NO MORE CHEMO (FOR NOW!)

Great news!!!

I met with the oncologist today to find out whether my PSA has reduced. If not, a further four chemo cycles would be recommended (and were already booked in!)

Drumroll………….the PSA reduced from 27 to 26, so I just made it.

So……..where to from here? I have to halve the Prednisolone dose for three weeks and then stop taking it. I also need to get a CT scan in four weeks and meet the oncologist in six weeks to see what it shows.

If the PSA starts to rise again some time in the future, we can do four more chemo cycles then, or consider other options.

I did not get to ring the chemo bell to celebrate the end of treatment, but I did drop a couple of boxes of chocolates off for the chemo ward staff.

It is hard to put into words how relieved I am. I think I would have struggled to cope  with another three months of chemo.

My wife and daughter have endured a fair bit with my chemo brain, unstable emotions and other issues, so I hope we can look forward to more “normal”, stable and happy times ahead.

Good health and happiness to all. Cheers, Phil

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to NO MORE CHEMO (FOR NOW!)

  1. Lesley Braddon says:

    Hi Phil,
    That is great news. And I have no doubts you are relieved, and are looking forward to some easier times.
    Love Lesley

  2. psatozero says:

    Good news Phil! I was hoping for a more dramatic lowering of your psa, but any fall is good. Hopefully it will get to some better number as time goes on. I was so fortunate to avoid chemo. The Zytiga is working wonders and I hope that post chemo you may have that option as well. Meanwhile it looks like chemo has worked its magic to some degree. We are praying for a good result from your scans.

  3. V.J. Knutson says:

    Such a relief it must be for all involved. Congrats, Phil.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Great news Phil. We have been thinking of you xx

  5. Bridget says:

    Great news Phil!

  6. YAPCaB says:

    Congrats, enjoy the respite

  7. Anonymous says:

    Good news!

Leave a comment